Save

With PDFCreator, you’re able to handle each document individually using the interactive mode or you can automate your workflow with our automatic mode.

Learn how to change the default saving location and set a default Filename.

General Settings

Filename

The filename template is where you change the way you would like PDFCreator to name the documents it creates. It is the proposed name in the save file dialog and the name used in auto-save mode. The default value is <title>, this token will be replaced by the source document’s title. Tokens can be added by selecting an item from the token list.

Tip

You can use tokens here. For more information, please visit the Tokens section

Target Directory

By default, the PDFCreator save dialog opens with the last directory that was used. You can define a specific directory instead. In order to activate the function simply insert the location of your directory into the textbox or use the “…” Button to choose a folder on your PC.

Tip

You can use tokens here. For more information, please visit the Tokens section

Only save file temporarily

Using this option will make PDFCreator save files temporarily in a separate folder. PDFCreator will automatically delete all files in the folder every 48 hours. The output for each print job is saved in a subfolder to ensure there are no duplicated file names. This feature is especially useful if you don’t need to save files because print jobs are processed via send actions.

Open file after saving

The Open file after saving action opens the converted files in the default viewer. The application that is used here depends on your system configuration. By default image files are opened with the Windows Image Viewer and PDFs with the default PDF application.

You can also select to always open PDF files with PDF Architect, our PDF Viewer and Editor.

Note

After the free registration you will receive an additional module which allows you to rotate, move and delete pages as well as merge PDFs. More modules to edit and work on PDF files can be purchased. Visit the homepage for more information.

Interactive

This setting will open a window prior to any conversion. While using the interactive mode you’re allowed to change the profile, filename,
the output format and several other settings.

Skip print dialog

This feature allows you to skip PDFCreator’s print dialog and use the Windows save file dialog instead.

Automatic

The Automatic mode will skip all user interaction, therefore you have to predefine the file format, a filename (see Metadata) and the target directory you’d like to use. If the target directory does not exist it will be created.

You can use tokens here, to automatically change the values mentioned above. For more information, please visit the Tokens section

Note

Since there is no interaction, auto-save profiles must store all required passwords.

If you configured an auto-save profile, you have to link it to a printer in the application settings. Using this printer your file will be automatically created according to your settings. If you want to change these settings, you have to start PDFCreator from the Windows Explorer.

Don’t overwrite existing files

With this option existing files won’t be overwritten. Therefore existing filenames will get a numbered appendix. For example if “Testfile.pdf” already exists, it will be renamed to “Testfile_2.pdf”. This will ensure that automatic saving does not (accidentally) delete files.

Show tray notification

Activate this feature to get a tray notification after converting a document. You can also choose to receive notifications for errors, only.